How much can you use brake in a turn???

kkiser69

Reaction score
Visit site
Noob here....1.5k miles. Riding careful, etc, etc.

Other day felt a little bit hot coming into a left-hand, 90 degree turn at an intersection. Natural instinct made me apply a "little bit" of brake (front and back). Everything ended up "ok," but the front wheel did shimmy just a wee bit. enough for me to take note and think...."gee, that time wasn't bad, but what's gonna happen if i do that at even faster speeds."

So -- i've read some on the subject but thought i'd start yet another thread...

How much can you, safely, use brakes in mid-turn?

Kevin

rsw81

Keep it Kosher
Reaction score
Visit site
Honest answer is zero. In an ideal world, you should be slowed enough before the turn to be on the throttle as you enter the turn. The idea is that you should not be speeding up or slowing down while turning, thus providing the maximum traction available for the rotation acceleration as opposed to linear acceleration. Now I know what your thinking... why would I need to be on the throttle while turning if I'm not supposed to accelerate? The answer is that turning is a form of acceleration, aka angular acceleration or rotational acceleration. If F=ma for linear acceleration, the angular acceleration is F=mv(squared)/r where r is the radius of the circle that you are turning. If you are turning, you are accelerating. If you are accelerating, you need to apply force to maintain a given linear velocity (v), hence the throttle needing to be open a little.

This is all in perfect physics world (ie: not reality)