Quick Q on oil and engine temp.

Nightster6

Ready to Ride
Reaction score
Visit site
So i changed my oil today, put in Shell Rotella T6 Synthetic 5W-40. Now I got 5W-40 because it was the only one i coulod find in full sythetic at my local Walmart. After changing it, I let it idle in the driveway for bout 5 mins then took it for a spin around the block. When i got back and put it in the garage i noticed the fans were on and it was sitting at 4 bars on the temp gauge. Its 35 degrees outside so im thinkin this is a bit wierd. Is this because i went with too low of a winter viscosity? Any advice if i should leave it or change it to something else?

nicholas.craft

Reaction score
Visit site
As for changing it that is up to you? In my opinion I would. The only reason I say that is (I am no mechanic by far) the manual says not to go below a 10w for the first number. I did a bunch of research on here and believe some might run 5W, but I always just follow the manual. Winter I am going to be using 10-40 and summer 20-40.

PhotoAl

Reaction score
Visit site
I use that oil and have ridden many times in 35 degree weather - it was 38 today when I rode to work. At those temps the only time I see above 2 bars is when sitting in traffic for a while. I have put over 16,000 miles on my FZ6 in the last two years with Rotella synthetic T6 and am very happy with it. All that said the temp behavior is concerning.

Amorousnerdium

Elite Member
Reaction score
www.jasonwoodcock.biz
I changed my oil today to the Rotella T6 as well. Swapped to the SuperTech oil filter also. Pretty much same thing as you, did the oil change, let it run a few minutes, then went for a ride.

However, I seem to gave the opposite results... Previously my temp stayed at four bars consistently. However, after changing over today, my temp stays at about two bars, every so often hitting three. Also noticed that my gear engagement is so much cleaner, no ca-chunk, and the engine even sounded smoother.