FZ6 Engine

abg

Reaction score
Visit site
I am new to street bikes (long history with dirt bikes) and was about to pull the trigger on an FZ6 when I made the mistake of reading Motrocycle magazine comparison tests.

Without fail all of them disliked the FZ6 engine saying that it lacked low end torque and required hunting for the right gear. Thus, for casual riding, it was not the best choice. Of course they all loved the SV650.

My question is, for those of you who own an FZ6, do you agree that the bike does not have sufficient torque (and perhaps power) in the lower RPMs? Do you need to dog the bike to have fun?

Thanks in advance.

Bottom line FZ6 is the way to go. It is a great bike, a whole lot faster that SV650 and it looks better if you ask me. It has a great mid range power, since you will be crousing 4-5 RPM, its just right. Real power kicks in at 7000RPM all the way up to 12000 easy. It will rip your arms off...LOL.
Fz6 over SV650 any day... all day. If you get FZ6 you will not be disapointed at all.
Good luck with your choice....:Flash:

I agree with staticghost. The FZ6 is by no means lacking horsepower or torque. Before purchasing my 2008 FZ6, I rode other bikes including a SV650, Ninja 650, and a Suzuki GS500F. While the FZ6 may not have the same levels of low end torque as the SV650, or Ninja 650, the FZ6 certainly has enough power to thrill. 5,000 rpms will get you 60 mph in 6 th gear. Roll the throttle a bit and you'll be running 80+. Once you push the tach needle past 7,000 rpms, you'll really need to hang on. The FZ6 transforms into a real animal at 7,000+. The FZ really shines in midrange torque and power, and this is exactly where most of us will be using it. I absolutely love the 4 cylinder exhaust note when compared to a V or parallel twin, and the bike just feels more refined than the twin cylinder bikes.

Bottom line... it's your money. Buy what YOU want.

Last edited: