Looked at an FZ6 last night...

mikesova

Reaction score
Visit site
Background: I just sold my Ninja 250 that I've been riding for the past 3 years and am looking for a little bigger street bike that is more touring capable.

The bike I looked at is a 2005 FZ6 w/ 15k miles. It has a dynojet power commander III, an M-3 steering damper, M-4 slip on pipes, 3 year old pirelli diablo tires and supposedly a "racing clutch".

The seller is a guy in his late 40's who bought the bike from his neighbor. The neighbor was some kind of mechanic and looked to have taken good care of the bike. The seller however doesn't really know anything about the bike. He is scared to touch the power commander because "he doesn't want to mess anything up".

The bike looks to have been pretty well taken care of with the minor exception that it has been dropped by the current owner in his driveway. It is evident by the scratch on the engine case, the engine mount bolt is ground away a bit, ground up bar end weight, brake lever, and turn signal.

I took the bike for a ride around the block, I kind of liked it. I didn't like the noisy pipes, but I could always swap for a stock set. The thing I'm nervous about is the PCIII. Is that something that can be "hacked up" or is it plug and play? Would I be able to just unplug it or is it spliced into the bike?

Also, if I am taking it easy on this bike, say doing highway speeds of 65ish, would I do a lot better MPG's than the low 40's I keep hearing about?

Here's some pics:

7460135454_dbdd17c1e9_b.jpg

7460140424_99d68e054f_b.jpg

7460138018_89d090fb69_b.jpg

7460144480_442fe57ae6.jpg

I looked up the blue book and its listed at around 3300. The bike isn't perfect and my anal retentiveness would require me to replace the ground lever, bar end, (a set of crash pegs would fix the ground up engine mount bolt), and turn signal.