Can you get at battery leads without taking off fuel tank?

ChaosCrayons

Reaction score
Visit site
Simple question, I own no tools other than what comes with the bike and I am not very good with mechanical items. I can turn most anything into a functioning PC but if it has an engine in it I am at a loss. Long story short, battery died and for the life of me I cannot hill/roll start it. the back tire seams to lock and skid no matter what I do. I can jump it off a friends bike but I would rather not take the tank off if I dont absolutely have to. opinions, advice, anything?

S

Shamus McFeeley

The toolkit that comes with the bike has everything you need to remove the tank. You'll need one of the allen keys and the 10mm wrench. The spark plug tool also works great for getting the rear tank bolt as well because it has a 10mm socket at one end.

Remove the 2 allen bolts at the front of the tank

Remove the 10mm bolt at the rear of the tank

Gently slide the tank to the rear of the bike to clear the fairing and then lift it up out of the way. Be careful not to lift too much or too hard because the connections for the fuel pump can be damaged.

Now you should be able to get at both terminals. While you're in there, you could take the opportunity to install an SAE plug for a battery tender. It seems like a lot of work, but once you do it a few times you should be able to remove your tank faster than a nascar pit crew.

Motogiro

Vrrroooooom!
Staff member
Elite Member
Site Supporter
Reaction score
Visit site